Wednesday, September 22, 2021
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Four COVID-19 travel restriction road checks established by RCMP in B.C.

- Advertisement -

BRITISH COLUMBIA – The British Columbia RCMP has established four road checks for that province’s new COVID-19 travel restrictions.

“The checks are part of the provincial enforcement actions that are meant to help reduce the spread of COVID-19 throughout the province by limiting travel between three regions,” said BC RCMP.

Travel between the Lower Mainland and Fraser Valley, the Northern and Interior Health regions, and to and from Vancouver Island are being targeted by those four road checks.

According to police, the checks will be mostly set up in the Lower Mainland:

- Advertisement -   Article continues below ad
  • Highway 1, north of Hope,
  • Highway 3, west of Princeton,
  • Highway 5, north of Kamloops, and
  • Highway 99, near Lillooet.

“People traveling for essential reasons through those areas can expect traffic delays,” said BC RCMP. “Signage will be in place informing travelers of upcoming road check locations and providing safe u-turn routes should motorists determine that their travel is not essential and wish to avoid the road check.”

Police officers will be asking for identification from drivers at each road check, and the purpose for why they are traveling.

“If an officer determines that a person is traveling for non-essential reasons, they will be directed to leave the region.”

The fine for breaking the travel restrictions is $575.

-story courtesy of Bradley Jones,

- Advertisement -
Sam Borsato

I started my radio career in 2015, shortly after graduating from Lethbridge College. I have a very strong passion for local news.

Proudly born in 1994, I grew up most of my life in Sylvan Lake, AB and I’ve lived in the Lethbridge since 2012. I’m a below average golfer on a good day, I take as many hiking trips to Waterton as possible in the summer and I love my two cats, Outlaw and Jynx, and my dog, Maverick, more than most people I know.

I look forward to providing accurate, timely news coverage in southern Alberta for plenty of years to come!

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Lethbridge News

Three Lethbridge schools reporting 10-percent or more illness-related student absences

LETHBRIDGE, AB - At least three public schools in Lethbridge are reporting absenteeism of 10-percent or more due to respiratory illness. Those include Mike Mountain...

Lethbridge residents will get two ballots during October civic election

LETHBRIDGE, AB - Now that the federal election is behind us, it's time for Lethbridge residents to start thinking about who they want to...

Alberta now experiencing most hospitalizations due to COVID during pandemic

EDMONTON, AB - Alberta's COVID-19 crisis is getting worse and now the provincial government is asking the feds for help. As of Tuesday's update, there...

Arrest made, Lethbridge Police lay charges in shot fired investigation

LETHBRIDGE, AB -  A 27 year old Lethbridge man is facing a list of charges after a police officer heard someone fire off a...

Tyler Shandro resigns as Alberta’s Health Minister, but stays in cabinet

EDMONTON, AB - A big shake up inside Alberta's UCP government. Premier Jason Kenney has changed the person in charge of the province's health portfolio,...
- Advertisement -