Sunday, December 4, 2022

University of Lethbridge names alumni award recipients

The University of Lethbridge Alumni Association is recognizing Dr. Dennis Sumara and Felipe Civita Ferreira as the winners of alumni awards. Sumara is the recipient of the Distinguished Alumni award, while Ferreira is receiving the Young Alumni award.

“Dennis and Felipe are outstanding representatives of ULethbridge and the alumni association for their commitment to making a real difference in their communities,” says Deirdre McKenna, University of Lethbridge alumni association president.

“The work they do, both in a professional capacity and as volunteers, embraces the liberal education ideals we learned as students as they strive to create a more equitable and inclusive society. Their willingness to do the work to accelerate positive change is testament to their character and we are proud to recognize them with these honours.”

Sumara is a professor at the University of Calgary’s Werklund School of Education and has recieved praise for his work bringing equity, diversity, inclusion and interdisciplinarity into teacher education.

Civita Ferreira, a native of Brazil, came to Canada at the age of 17. He has taken on a leadership role in several international development projects and has been working to help refugees coming into Canada.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -